National Honor Society Induction 2020

President of National Honor Society, Senior Jad Bendarkawi, served as master of ceremonies for the NHS Induction. Five seniors and 10 juniors were inducted on July 30, 2020. Twenty-five seniors in all make up the roll of the NHS.

Dr. Harrison handed out certificates to seniors.

On July 30, 2020 at 7PM, Rockland High School inducted five seniors and ten juniors into the National Honor Society. Twenty five current senior members were also present at the ceremony, along with friends, family, and multiple staff members to support new and old members of the Society.

In order to deliver a safe induction, the number of guests were limited to immediate family only. Families along with students had to remain six feet apart throughout the induction, and all attendees were required to wear a face mask upon their attendance.

To start off the ceremony, previous and new members entered the stadium led by Jad Bendarkawi, the Class of 2020 National Honor Society president. After giving the pledge, Jad delivered an introduction of the National Honor Society, along with a history of the societies background. Following Jad’s speech, the class of 2020 secretary, Madeline Gear announced the senior roll call, to congratulate the members on their college acceptances. Following roll call, Virtues were presented by the following students:

Character: Zach Webb

Scholarship: Katy Buckley

Leadership: Tyler Gambon

Service: Julia Yeadon

Led by Jad, the new inductees recited a pledge in order to become members. Following the pledge, Jad presented the pins to the new inductees, and principal Dr. John Harrison presented certificates to all senior members.

At the conclusion of the ceremony, students, families, and faculty members had the opportunity for photos. Inductees were able to receive gifts from their sponsors, which could have been a faculty member, or an immediate family member that had attended the ceremony.

Senior Members (25)

Melyssa Almedia
Stephanie Beatrice
Jad Bendarkawi, President
Mathew Bruzzese, Treasurer
Katy Buckley
Maria Ciano
Kerin Dalton
Jessica DeMarco
Jillian Dorney
Caroline Elie
Tyler Gambon
Madeline Gear, Secretary
Nicolle Gudiel Winter
Melanie Harris
Tyler Johnson
Sarah McLellan
Sabrina Morgan
Dhruvi Patel
Alyssa Patten
Dakota Pike
Oliver Reera
Zachary Webb
Hannah Wyllie, Vice President
Julia Yeadon
Danting Zhu
Class of 2020
Kerin Dalton
Melanie Harris
Sarah McLellan
Dhruvi Patel
Dakota Pike
Class of 2021 
Jared Allen
Grace Henry
Robert Ivil III
Chloe Jones
Ann Kelley
Althea Olsen
Hannah Rich
Cullen Rogers
Greta Russo
Zachary Soloman


Posted on August 9, 2020, in Clubs / Activities, Features. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: