Senior Awards Night 2016

On Thursday, June 1, 2016 scholarship and academic achievement awards were given out to seniors in the Class of 2016 at a ceremony in the auditorium.

Beginning the evening, Chairman of the Rockland School Committee, Dan Biggins spoke to the class about the pride that the community of Rockland has in them and the pride that they should have in themselves for their accomplishments.  Next, Superintendent of Schools, John Retchless congratulated the seniors and promised that he would have a longer speech at Graduation!

Next, senior Ryan Sugrue read the yearbook dedication to Mrs. Kathy Hoffman of the Math Department and presenting her with the Class of 2016 yearbook.

Later, Ryan was presented with the Valedictorian medal by Superintendent of Schools, Mr. John Retchless.

Captain Adam Reiber, Northeastern ROTC presented Matthew Kirslis with a four year ROTC scholarship.

The Quirk and Sullivan families presented scholarships to two seniors in memory of Jared Quirk and Patrick Sullivan who passed away last year.  On behalf of the Sullivan Family, Dennis McPeck of the Class of 2015 presented Caitlin Yannizzi with the Patrick J. Sullivan Scholarship.  Ryan Quirk presented the “Good Guy” Scholarship to Harrison Shields in honor of his brother Jared.

Bob and Dan Biggins next presented a scholarship in memory of Christine J. Biggins to Kyra Rose.

Joan Domigan-Wentz presented the George and Betty Domigan Memorial Scholarship to Shelise Dutcher

Jim Cahill presented the Jimbo award to Shane Darcy and Stephen Norris

Eileen Small of the Rockland/Hanson Rotary presented the Community Service Scholarship to  Alexandria Carchedi and Caitlin Yannizzi

Following is a list of all the award recipients.


Military AwardsRyan Hooper; Brian MacDonald; Taylor Schell; Gustavo Ribeiro – CORDS for graduation

Captain Adam Reiber, Northeastern ROTC – Matthew Kirslis

Patrick J. Sullivan Memorial Scholarship – Caitlin Yannizzi – 1,000.

“The Good Guy” Scholarship in honor of Jared Lewis Quirk –Harrison Shields – $2,000.00

 Christine J. Biggins Memorial Scholarship –– Kyra Rose – $1,500.00

George and Betty Domigan Memorial Scholarship – Shelise Dutcher – 1,000.00

 The Jimbo Award – Shane Darcy and Stephen Norris  – $250.00 each

Rockland/Hanson Rotary Community Service Scholarship – Alexandria Carchedi and Caitlin Yannizzi -$500.00 each

The John Mahoney Memorial Award Scholarship –-Shane Darcy – $100.00

The Edward Sokolowski Award – Lucy Boggs – $150.00

 Peter Woodward American Studies Scholarship – Harrison Shields – $100.00

 Reuben A. & Lizzie Grossman Foundation Award –$750.00 each Ryan Sugrue, Meghan Foster

Student Art Competitions  –– Celia Rosa– Scholastic Art/Boston Globe Show – Gold Key and Silver Key – for Drawing; Syann Teixeira  –Congressional Art Show –Second Place Computer Art and Second Parish Church Hingham Art Show – Honorable Mention Photography

Mr. Rockland Award –– Zachary Pransky – $250.00

RHS Journalism/Student Newspaper Awards  – Haley Macray, Managing Editor of the Veritas; Michael Ivanoskos, Special Achievement Award as a writer for the Veritas On-Line

Spellman Oratorical Winners – Ashley Pezzella(first $1,200); Mark Ewell (second $1,000); Leah DeCecco (third $700); Bella Rindone (fourth $500); Brad Gasdia (fifth $300); Celia Rosa, Meghan Foster and Haley Macray (tied for sixth $100)

Senior Academic Letters (Excellence In Education) – Meghan Foster, Tamara Gibson, Sarah Kane, Harrison Shields

Community Service Awards – Ryan Sugrue, Haley Macray, Alexandria Carchedi, Ashley Pezzella

Excellence in Mathematics – Erika Wiley, Sarah Margolis, Ryan Sugrue, Fanting Zhou

Share the Spirit Award (S.H.A.R.E. – Selfless Helpers Assisting Rockland Everyday) – Angela Turner

Senior Academic Achievement Awards (plaques)


Art    Celia Rosa and Caitlin Hedges

Family Consumer Science Ashley Arena

Health   Raye LaPlante, Jr. and Caitlin Yannizzi

Music   Mark Ewell and Sarah Hunter

Physical Education  Harrison Shields and Brianna McConville

Pre-Engineering/Robotics     Michael Rocha and Liam Maloney

Technical Education     Jonathan Nguyen

World Language          Michael Ivanoskos


Haley Macray – English, World Language

Alexandria Carchedi- English, History/Social Science

Fanting Zhou – History/Social Science, Mathematics, Science

Hao Xu  – Mathematics, Science


Ryan Sugrue

Athletic Silver Bowl Winners for earning 10 or more letters – Shane Murray, Caroline Kilduff and Sarah Margolis


Posted on June 3, 2016, in Features, News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: