Seniors receive academic awards, scholarships

The Class of 2015 Senior Banquet was held on Thursday, May 28 at Rockland High School.  Seniors were honored with Scholarships and Academic Awards.  Below are scholarship presentations and several awards.

U.S. Marine Corps – Sergeant Cody Lee presenting award to: 4 marines- Patrick Tanner, Richard Walls, Jason Cameron, Alec Donegan

National Guard – Sergeant Joseph Pollini presenting award to – 2 students – Kyle Cousins, Shawn Fahey

George and Betty Domigan Memorial Scholarship $1,000.00 – Kaitlyn Mott presented by Joan Domigan-Wentz & George Domigan

DeAndrea Foods Scholarship – In memory of Joshua Rose – Dennis McPeck

Christine J. Biggins Memorial Scholarship – presented by Daniel (Dan) Biggins to – Kaitlyn Capeau – $500.00

Patrick J. Sullivan memorial scholarship – 1,000.00 Dennis McPeck; 8 more at $500.00 each: Dylan Bernache, Katherine DeLorey, Cameron Kelley, Michael Leavitt, Julia Matson, Justin Nguyen, Brianna Starkey, Cameron Stuart.

  1. The John Mahoney Memorial Award Scholarship –-Matthew Clougherty – $100.00
  1. The Edward Sokolowski Award – Danielle Hill – $150.00
  1. Peter Woodward American Studies Scholarship – Emma McGarry – $100.00
  1. Reuben A. & Lizzie Grossman Foundation Award –Edward Yeadon and Danielle Whitcher – $750.00 each
  1. Student Art Competitions –– Danielle Hill – Scholastic Art/Boston Globe Show Gold Key – Silver Key for Drawing; Daniel Silva – Scholastic Art/Boston Globe Show – Silver Key for Drawing and Second Parish Church Hingham Art Show – Third Place Drawing/2D Art; Victoria Rountry – Second Parish Church Hingham Art Show – Honorable Mention Photography; Kyle Cousins – Patriotic Art Competition – third place
  1. Mr. Rockland Award –– Christopher Landy – $250.00
  1. The Jimbo Award – Dennis McPeck – $500.00
  1. RHS Journalism/Student Newspaper Awards –Veritas – Katherine DeLorey, Editor-in-Chief; Alexandra Pigeon, Editor-in-Chief; Michael Leavitt, Photo Editor; Cameron Stuart, Sports Editor; Brian Cohen, Reporter and Sports Columnist; Mekenzie Levesque, Reporter
  1. Spellman Oratorical Winners – Danielle Hill (first $1,200); Pearse McNally (second $1,000); Alexandra Pigeon (third $700); Emma McGarry (fourth $500); Iman Bendarkawi (fifth $300); Katherine DeLorey (sixth $100); Alyssa Collins (seventh $100); Ella Engle (eighth $100)
  1. Rockland/Hanson Rotary Community Service Scholarship – Michael Leavitt -$500.00
  1. Poetry Out Loud –Danielle Hill
  1. Senior Academic Letters (Excellence In Education) – Madeline Daly, Natalie Ellard, Katherine Gardner, Krystin Killion, Bruna Lopes, Michael Mignosa, Taylor Reis
  1. Community Service Awards – Natalie Ellard, Jenna Novio, Tiffini Vo
  1. Excellence in Mathematics – Iman Bendarkawi, Natalie Ellard, Samantha Poirier, Patrick Butler, Markus Rohwetter, Alyssa Collins

Academic Awards –   Family Consumer Science:  Taylor Reis, Health: Christopher Landy,  Kara Penney, History/Social Science: Natalie Ellard, Mathematics: Patrick Butler,  Music: Ella Engle,  Markus Rohwetter,  Physical Education:   Matthew Bille, Brianna Starkey, Pre-Engineering: Owen Scott,  Science: Brian Cohen, Technical Education: Austin Ferrullo, Patrick Tanner,  World Language: Bruna Lopes


Danielle Hill        Art, English

Daniel Silva         Art, Pre-Engineering

Iman Bendarkawi      English, Mathematics

Kaitlyn Mott         Family Consumer Science, World Language

Tiffini Vo           History/Social Science, Science


photos courtesy of Mrs. Cheryl Thompson


Posted on June 8, 2015, in Features, News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: