Alyssa Collins: Class of 2015 Valedictorian

Senior Alyssa Collins is the Valedictorian of the Class of 2015

Senior Alyssa Collins is the Valedictorian of the Class of 2015

Senior Alyssa Collins has been named the Class of 2015 Valedictorian.  She will receive her award at the Senior Banquet and Awards ceremony on Thursday night.  Alyssa will also give the Valedictory Address at Graduation on Friday night.

Collins has been active throughout her high school career in the Theater Guild and in the Music Department as a member of the Concert and Marching Band.  She served as Drum Major of the Band this year.  A member of the National Honor Society, Collins also was captain of the Math Team this year.

Collins  took time out of a busy senior week to answer a few questions for the Veritas:

Was this a goal of yours to be Valedictorian?

It was. I started off freshman year at number four in the class and slowly worked my way up to the top with a lot of hard work and late night study sessions.

Where are you going to school?  Major? 

Next year, I will be attending Clark University to study cognitive psychology. I eventually want to conduct my own psychological research.

What was your favorite subject in high school? 

I’ve always had a love for math. Most people hate it but I have typically been able to understand it and therefore don’t have such a deep seated hatred. I also took AP Psychology this year which I wish I could have taken earlier. I have planned for a long time to study psychology in college so I wish I could have had a longer chance to learn more about it in high school, but I really enjoyed the class.When I study psychology, I plan on conducting my research on how people comprehend numbers and calculations, so I will be combining two of my favorite subjects as a future career.

What is the thing you’ll miss most about high school?

I’m going to miss my music department family and the fact that the teachers are so personable. I’m really going to miss being able to have a repertoire of teachers and friends to go to if I have a problem or if I just want to talk. Although sometimes you hate that teachers assign too many homework problems and give you super hard tests, I appreciate that the faculty here really pushed us to be not only better students, but better people.

What do you look forward to most in college?

Being independent

What do you do to have fun?   Fav. movie, music?

I love watching YouTube videos, listening to music, and snapchatting or hanging out with my best friends.

Anything to say to the Class of 2015 (preview of your speech?)

Change is a necessary evil. As hard as it may be when it is happening, you can always look back on those moments and witness how much you’ve grown.

Congratulations Alyssa! 

Posted on May 27, 2015, in Features, News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

